Coronavirus | A Global Ban


The complete guide to travel at the time of


In this period of fast growing of coronavirus infection, continuous changes are reported to travel around the world.

As of Saturday March 14th here you can find the list of the countries with a complete ban.

Countries With A Global Ban On Entry And Mandatory Self-Isolation


Australia has on March 14 announced that any arrivals will have to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days.


Denmark has closed its border on March 14 for all non-citizens, which includes a ban for tourism and vacations.


From March 15 Cyprus will only allow residents and European workers to enter for a 15-day period

Czech Republic

Will completely close its borders to non-residents on 16 March with no timescale currently in place to reopen.


Has imposed a mandatory 14-day quarantine for citizens returning from China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, South Korea and Spain. Tourist visas have been suspended until April 15.

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia has all but closed down its borders with most flights canceled. Any visitor that has been to the filling countries in the last 14 days will also not be permitted entry: Bahrain, China, Taiwan, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Kenya, South Korea, Kuwait, Lebanon, Macau, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Somalia, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Turkey or the United Arab Emirates.

North Korea

Competed closed their border including with China, where the majority of arrivals come from. Only diplomats are allowed to cross the border but information is not entirely clear.


Vietnam has announced that any arrival who has been in the U.K. or Schengen Area in the last 14 days will be denied entry, lasting for a 30 day period.


Lithuania will close its borders except for residents from midnight on March 16.


Ukraine has entirely closed its borders for foreign arrivals for the next two weeks.


Poland has instated a 10-day ban on foreign visitors from March 15, and a mandatory 14-day quarantine for returning nationals.


Slovakia has closed its borders and airports and imposed mandatory quarantine for returning residents with a €1,659 fine for anyone violating this.

New Zealand

New Zealand has imposed a mandatory set-isolation period of 14 days for all arrivals from overseas except for the South Pacific Islands. cruise ships have been banned from entering New Zealand until June 30z


Oman has suspended all tourist visas for a period of one month from March 15.


The former Dutch colony of Suriname in South America has completely closed its borders.

Restrictions for citizens or visitors from Europe

With Italy on lockdown and Spain following, many nations around the world have restricted entry to U.K. and Schengen Area visitors.

United States

Entry is suspended until at least April 13 for any resident of Schengen Area countries, the U.K. and Ireland. This also includes anyone who has visited these countries in the last 14 days. Legal permanent residents and most immediate family members of U.S. citizens are still permitted entry.


Israel has imposed mandatory 14-day self-quarantine for visitors and citizens alike.

Hong Kong

Visitors to Hong Kong from Schengen Area countries will be quarantined for 14 days.


Citizens and residents must be quarantined for 14 days and visitors from the U.K., Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Switzerland are not allowed to enter or transit.


Entry is not allowed for visitors from Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain and Sweden. This also includes anyone who has visited these countries in the last 14 days. Flights from these nations are suspended but do not apply to Turkish nationals.


Vietnam has suspended entry from 15 March for all Schengen country visitors including the U.K. This extends to any visit in these countries in the last 14 days, even if for transit.


Guatemala has banned travel from citizens of the U.S., Eurореаn соuntrіеѕ, Іrаn, Сhіnа, Ѕоuth Коrеа аnd Nоrth Коrеа


Honduras has banned travel for arrivals from Europe, Iran, South Korea and China


Has stopped giving out visas on arrival and requires that anyone traveling to Thailand presents a medical certificate prior to receiving a visa in advance.


The UAE has temporarily suspended the issuance of all entry visas (including visa waiver on arrival) from March 17, except for diplomatic passports. This will be effective as of March 17.


As of yet, Canada has only restricted entry to cruise ships of over 500 passengers.

South America

Restrictions are very recent across South America, which has so far been relatively less exposed to COVID-19. Currently Peru, Paraguay, Argentina and Bolivia have recently begun suspending flights from Europe and Asia.

Other Restrictions


All visitors from France, Iran, Italy, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland and parts of China or who have visited in the past 14 days will have to provide a medical certificate proving a negative COVID-19 test result.


Visitors arriving from Italy, South Korea and Japan and arriving in Beijing, Shanghai, Sichuan or Guangdong must enter quarantine for two weeks.

UPDATE – The list of countries included in the 14 day quarantine list has now been extended to Iran, France, Spain, Germany and the United States.


People arriving from other countries affected by the virus must self-isolate for two weeks. Any arrivals from “hard-hit” areas including Italy, Iran and China’s Hubei province must enter a government quarantine facility at the travelers expense.


Colombia has closed its border with Venezuela and now restricted entry for anyone that has visited Asia or Europe in the last 14 days. Any returning citizen must enter a mandatory self-quarantine.

Update – Colombia is now set to close its borders completely but this has not yet been officially confirmed.


Denmark has closed its borders to all foreign nationals until April 14.

El Salvador

El Salvador has restricted entry to all foreigners since March 11.


Italy is currently on lockdown.


So far Japan has banned entry to passengers who have been in affected regions of China, South Korea or Italy within the last 14 days.


Norway has said that visitors from outside the Nordics will have to return home on the Oslo municipality website.


Closing land borders with Poland and Norway, and restricting flights in the European Union to only Capital Cities.

South Korea

South Korea has currently only suspended entry for passengers from Hubei province in China.


Any passengers arriving from the following countries must enter a mandatory quarantine for 14 days: China, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Iran, Spain, Italy, France and Germany


Venezuela has suspended flights to Europe and Colombia until April 13.


French Polynesia

Any visitor to Bora Bora and Tahiti must show a medical certificate proving a clean bill of health, dated no later than 5 days before arrival from the port of entry.


Kuwait has closed its airport and canceled flights indefinitely. There are some exceptions for Kuwait nationals so some charter flights may still operate.


Argentina has now closed their borders to all non-residents.


Slovenia has closed its borders to non-residnets


Qatar has suspended entry into Qatar for non-Qataris, however transit passengers on Qatar Airways via doha can still travel if they do not leave the airport.

South Africa

South Africa is closing its borders to citizens from high-risk countries from March 18. This includes Italy, the U.K., U.S., South Korea and China. Visas will be refused to anyone who has visited a high-risk country in the last 20 days, and 35 of the country’s 53 land ports will also be shut as of Monday.